Cozy vs sterile

Michelle1851
Level 10
Littleton, CO

Cozy vs sterile

Hi, I am somewhat new to hosting. The reason I started my 2 listings was because I had such good experiences in staying in Airbnb’s previously.  

Before starting I read the forums and suggestions and tried to supply what everyone else did.  

For the first time since operating an Airbnb, we are staying in one, I am really discouraged, it’s a fine place but nothing really to stand out.  The photos were so beautiful, but it is sterile, no games, no coffee, the bare minimum.  I was hoping to get my spouse to switch to Airbnb’s for business travel, I’m afraid now he’ll never try another one.  

So I’m just curious about amenities and coziness?  What do others feel is important when staying at an Airbnb?

20 Replies 20
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Michelle1851  I've never travelled as a guest, but to me, one of the advantages of Airbnb would be that each one is different, not looking like some generic hotel with art by the pound on the walls. I wouldn't be interested in something sterile- looking.

My private room listing doesn't look like anyplace else and my guests seem to really like it. I don't subscribe to the all white towels and bedding faction, those things are colorful in my listing and I even sew my own pillowcases in cool patterned fabrics and make my own curtains, throw pillows, etc. I've even sewn fun little patches over an otherwise good sheet that somehow got a tiny hole in it and one guest commented how cute they were. Furnishings are eclectic- some are things I've had for 25 years, some are refurbished gems from second hand stores or found by the curb on garbage day. The wall art are pieces done by artist friends or even choice pieces my kids did when they were young.

But the space is uncluttered and knickknack-free, which I think most guests prefer