Day 16: My experience with becoming and staying a superhost

Dieneke0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Day 16: My experience with becoming and staying a superhost

Probably not surprising but like yesterday's post I am also writing  about my experiences of becoming and then keeping Superhost status.  This week is Superhost week when Airbnb is focusing on Superhosts and gives them a bit of extra publicity.

I have been hosting since 2012 - and Airbnb reminded me in their Superhost Week announcement that since I started I have hosted 325 guests from 36 countries. The Superhost Scheme was launched in 2009, but I was not really aware of it until after a couple of years hosting.  And then I was really determined to become a Superhost. But it must have taken me quite a while before achieving superhost status.

I host in London in a lovely neighbourhood called Stoke  Newington. There is lot of greenery, a park and a street with cute little shops and masses of cafes and restaurants. It is a great area for foodies. But there is no tube although there is a bus stop almost in front of the house. I get a mix of visitors - either parents of children who live in the area, but their flat is too small for their parents to be there as well, guests for weddings (town hall is about 3 minutes walk from my house), as well as tourists who are keen on walking and seeing another side of London. But I also get the tourist that just wants to hop on the tube and go to the centre. Quite a few don't know how big London is so they just book without thinking about it. 

I rent out a small room in my flat and live in the flat as well. In addition to the bathroom, the living room and the kitchen is shared. I do breakfast, including a full english. You can see pictures of the flat and the area here in my listing    after rooms type number 534433 (it doesn't accept the link)