Day 2 - 2019: Month of Celebration - Why I found out that Airbnb is really for me :-)

Roberta2
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Day 2 - 2019: Month of Celebration - Why I found out that Airbnb is really for me :-)

Hello fellow hosts

On this month of celebration, I would like to remind myself why I think Airbnb is really the right platform for me.

I have been hosting for over 3 years, and I am a home sharer - I rent out my spare room. From the odd "1 nighter", to the repeat guest, to long erm Guest - I believe my longest was 4 months (A lovely german student in London for a work experience, that ended up referring me to other  students from her university).

Things I learned:

- To be patient

- That I love London and enjoy sharing the city with the guests

- That Airbnb offers me the flexibility to "have a break" - both to be by myself, as to have the room for friends and family

- That I love learning about other people's traditions, food habits, and cultures (but still can not stand kimchi, sorry people from Korea) 🙂

What did you learn since becoming a host?

20 Replies 20
Lizzie
Former Community Manager
Former Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Such a lovely topic @Roberta2. It's wonderful to see how much joy you get from hosting. As a fellow Londoner, we want to be proud of the city we live in and as a host you are a great ambassador for this. 

Thank you for sharing and congrats on three great years of hosting. Here's to the next three. 🙂

--------------------

Thank you for the last 7 years, find out more in my Personal Update.

Looking to contact our Support Team, for details...take a look at the Community Help Guides.

Paul1255
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

A wonderful post @Roberta2 ! Your longest guest was 4 months?! I would need a masterclass in your patience to pull that off :))

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Roberta2 

Airbnb is different things to all of us Roberta but, we all gain strength from each other.