Day 2 - 2019: Month of Celebration - Why I found out that Airbnb is really for me :-)

Roberta2
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Day 2 - 2019: Month of Celebration - Why I found out that Airbnb is really for me :-)

Hello fellow hosts

On this month of celebration, I would like to remind myself why I think Airbnb is really the right platform for me.

I have been hosting for over 3 years, and I am a home sharer - I rent out my spare room. From the odd "1 nighter", to the repeat guest, to long erm Guest - I believe my longest was 4 months (A lovely german student in London for a work experience, that ended up referring me to other  students from her university).

Things I learned:

- To be patient

- That I love London and enjoy sharing the city with the guests

- That Airbnb offers me the flexibility to "have a break" - both to be by myself, as to have the room for friends and family

- That I love learning about other people's traditions, food habits, and cultures (but still can not stand kimchi, sorry people from Korea) 🙂

What did you learn since becoming a host?

20 Replies 20
Cathie19
Level 10
Darwin, Australia

Nicely said @Roberta2

We also share our home, although the space is separate, under our area. So yes, to all that you have found positive on the Airbnb platform.

Sure, there can be some negatives, but it also helps having a positive mindset and a very big check list in your head! Lol.....

I am the owner of my booking calendar and set the restrictions and requirements to meet our needs. By doing this, I get to be the more positive and relaxed me, when we open the calendar for guests. That means, you’ll get our undivided attention for your arrival, as well as your needs. 

What have I learnt? Maintain a base standard of cleanliness and outdoor landscaping, even when no guests are on the horizon. This does make the going a hell of a lot easier when that last minute notification “ping” comes through.....

🙂

@Roberta2