Day 7 - It's all about the little things!

Jen-Marie0
Level 5
Ruckersville, VA

Day 7 - It's all about the little things!

This is my first time posting something specific to the Community for this year's month of celebration! Thank you for the opportunity @Katie !

As the end of 2020 nears, I wanted to find a topic that reflected the assigned topic of pride in my units and practical advice that helped me thrive in a year that might have bankrupted our small business. 

After three+ years in this business I do still believe that it is all about the little things whether we are experiencing a global pandemic or business as usual. We need to keep guests happily hosted by channeling our "inner guest". Creating a space that feels like a home away from home has been key to our success. We have accomplished this by focusing on the little things by staying tuned in to what is happening in our community and the current travel trends. For example, we put holiday trees in all of our units for the month of December and through the New Year to create a sense of home for our guests that are travelling during the holidays. I have included pictures of our trees here to share the joy of the season!

Classic tree for the Manor!Classic tree for the Manor!Modern stylings for the guest house!Modern stylings for the guest house!Little loft tree for the cabin!Little loft tree for the cabin!

To keep in line with the little things for success each of our trees intentionally match the design template of our units. It does take a bit of time to set up, but our guests love it. We also make sure to post the pictures of our holiday cheer in early November to market to our future guests on Airbnb. We enjoy delighting our guests and take pride in doing the little things to make our units a little more like home during the holidays.

So now for the practical advice! Using the word TREE as an acronym for a process all of us can use to keep tweaking the little things to delight our guests.

Triage