Dishonest guest

June237
Level 2
Myuna Bay, Australia

Dishonest guest

I am new to airbandb hosting. Recently had a young couple staying for 2 days

The female seemed nice and friendly, but I thought that her partner was strange. He never said a word when they arrived

At the end of their stay they drove off without   us noticing.

Their review was good. I thought they were ok

When I went to clean the cabin I noticed that the fire blanket and a saucepan were missing

I messaged the guest asking if there had been an incident that required the use of the fire blanket and got no answer

Also noticed that the brand new non-stick frying pan had deep cuts in the non-stick coating, obviously made with a knife cutting into something

Bit worst of all was the overpowering smell of mens cologne! I have opened all the windows to air it out and used the ceiling fans full blast and I can still smell it!

Maybe it was used to mask the smell of a burnt saucepan ?

They must have taken the evidence with them ( saucepan and fire blanket) 

My first hosting experience was slightly worrying

6 Replies 6
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

You can make a claim using the Airbnb guarantee if your next guests haven't yet checked in @June237 

@hopefully you left them an honest review 

Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@June237 If you have seen their review then I guess you didn't leave an honest review of them? We learn't early on that we shouldn't leave a review until the cleaning has been finished as it is during cleaning strange things can become apparent.

Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@June237 You could send these guests a request for money for the missing and damaged kitchen items. If you've already reviewed, it's too late to do much else, unfortunately, but on the plus side they can't write a bad review because you asked for reimbursement! I would definitely always wait until after cleaning to write reviews.