Do hosts get penalized for declining unqualified guests?

Yan3
Level 10
Hong Kong

Do hosts get penalized for declining unqualified guests?

Dear fellow hosts,

I'm sure this question has come up previously, but I'm relatively new to hosting and couldn't find a definitive answer for this.  Anyway, I have a question about pre-approving/declining guests.  Do we get penalized (i.e. lower search rankings) if we decline inquiries from unqualified guests who do not meet house rules?  I have gotten a few requests recently which were just begging to be declined:

1.  Booking attempts with number of people more than my place can accommodate for.

2. Inquiries from people who don't read house rules (no pets, no children, etc.)

3. People who attempted to communicate outside of Airbnb before a reservation is made.

4. People who don't respond after their first inquiries.

5. Lowballers asking for deep discounts.

I understand that I must respond within 24 hours, but is responding to the initial inquiry enough to avoid getting penalized?  Do we have to press "Decline" for it to be considered a full response?  Does declining an inquiry lower my search rankings?

Thanks,

Yan

43 Replies 43

We rent our home (where we live) when we go on trips. Unfortunately our schedule is erratic....so I have in bold "please do not send a booking request, please send us an inquiry first to tell us a little bit about your trip and if the dates will work with ours."

Unfortunately a lot of guests don't read ANYTHING. Not even the first sentence of your booking page.

So when I get a booking request that doesn't work for us, I write them :  "Hi Dear, thank you so much for your interest. Unfortunately these dates will not work for us.  We're very sorry and would have loved to host you both for your weekend visit to New York, you guys sound lovely! We hope we can host you in the future, It would be our pleasure.