Do hosts get penalized for declining unqualified guests?

Yan3
Level 10
Hong Kong

Do hosts get penalized for declining unqualified guests?

Dear fellow hosts,

I'm sure this question has come up previously, but I'm relatively new to hosting and couldn't find a definitive answer for this.  Anyway, I have a question about pre-approving/declining guests.  Do we get penalized (i.e. lower search rankings) if we decline inquiries from unqualified guests who do not meet house rules?  I have gotten a few requests recently which were just begging to be declined:

1.  Booking attempts with number of people more than my place can accommodate for.

2. Inquiries from people who don't read house rules (no pets, no children, etc.)

3. People who attempted to communicate outside of Airbnb before a reservation is made.

4. People who don't respond after their first inquiries.

5. Lowballers asking for deep discounts.

I understand that I must respond within 24 hours, but is responding to the initial inquiry enough to avoid getting penalized?  Do we have to press "Decline" for it to be considered a full response?  Does declining an inquiry lower my search rankings?

Thanks,

Yan

43 Replies 43
ZenHomes0
Level 10
Singapore

@Yan3 I can't give you a definitive answer, but I'd just respond to the guest that they're unsuitable. I never really decline because of this uncertainty, and it makes no difference to just respond and leave it as it is. It's like the guest asked you a question and found someone else instead - I don't see how this can affect your search ranking. But clicking decline could be another matter... not too sure. Hope someone else can shed light on this.

Mark-TP0
Level 2
Ramsgate, United Kingdom

Adam.

I was hoping Airbnb would shed some light on this subject.

Mark

@ZenHomes0 wrote:

@Yan3  I don't see how this can affect your search ranking.

Airbnb has very sophisticated algorithm they can make anything and everything affect your search ranking.

@ZenHomes0