Emptying Drawers

Megan262
Level 2
Carlsbad, CA

Emptying Drawers

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this Airbnb gig! We are renting our own house that we live in out when we are on vacation and I'm wondering how much I need to clean things out. For example - do I need to clean out all nightstand and dresser drawers for our guests? What about the stuff in the refrigerator? What is expected? 

Thanks so much for your help,

Megan 

9 Replies 9
Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

Megan-  Hi and welcome to Airbnb hosting.

When you are inviting strangers into your personal home you have to realise it is not like having friends 'house-sit' and you do have to set your house up to accommodate your guests.

Here are a few points that it might be wise for you to consider.

1/. It is not a good idea to put 'post-it' notes all over the place telling guests what they can use and what they can't. Guests get annoyed about that, they have paid you money and you are continually telling them what they can and can't do....not a good look!

You can make up a couple of nice fancy scripted laminated notes for stategic areas like the bathroom so they do not look as though they are a specific guest demand  which could say..... 'Please help leave the bathroom the way you found it'!

Unfortunately I can't at this time show you a sreenshot of what I am talking about but there are nice pleasant ways of doing this.

2/. Guests will need a vacant cupboard to hang long things, and a drawer or two for folded clothes with a 'Guests resource' label on it! Try to re-organise your own things to make sure the guest has this as a minimum. 

3/. If you offer your kitchen in the listing expect that guests will use it. Once again allocate a cupboard for the guest and a shelf in the fridge. If there are things in the fridge you do not wish guests to help themselves to, put baking paper over the contents of that shelf with personal written on it. Most guest will respect that!