Enquiry Booking and Instant Booking at same time

Enquiry Booking and Instant Booking at same time

Hi there, I am new to hosting with Airbnb.

Yesterday I had an enquiry about the property where both the guest and I have questions and we exchanged a few messages. As the guest asked to book I receved an instant booking via another person for the exact same night. Out of fairness to the first person, I felt obligated to cancel the Instant booking - however now I have discovered the first person can't book the date at all. 

To prevent this from happening again - what do other people do?

If I turn off Instant Booking then I am concerned about whether guests are fully verified before making reservations.

Thanks

6 Replies 6
Andrew157
Level 10
Windermere, United Kingdom

There is an expression in the North of England which is First Come first served. Basically the IB booking was the first booking. After all the enquiry may have been a tyre kicker and not a serious booking. 

What you have done by cancelling the IB is fall foul of airbnb's cancellation policy. They really don't like hosts cancelling and will subject you to the five circles of hell. One of these is that the dates are blocked.

First rule of airbnb hosting is never cancel. 

Thanks Andrew for coming back to me. Lesson now learnt - hosts never cancel, and there I thought I was being fair and doing the right thing by honouring the original query/ booking.

Do you use IB? How do you verify your guests without IB?

Thanks

Claudiu-Nicolae0
Level 10
Barcelona, Spain