Extra Guests Staying

Alexandra357
Level 2
Amsterdam, Netherlands

Extra Guests Staying

I've been traveling with and hosting on Airbnb for almost six years now. The majority of my experiences have been wonderful, however in the past month, I've had my first negative experience while traveling (when our host canceled out of the blue the day before our trip) and now I've just had a pretty rotten experience as a host as well. 

We returned from our Christmas holiday having rented out own home for 5 nights. Our guest sent continuous messages the whole time on how to use the diswasher, oven, etc. which should have been a red flag regarding their experience in caring for an apartment. When we returned, the house was not only trashed (literally trash everywhere, food crunced into the floor, dirty cups stuck to counter, our personal bathroom items used and sprawled out) but things in our home were broken as well. A curtain fixture was ripped from the wall, a plant in our hallway had been knocked over and was broken in pieces (the pot and the plant) with dirt all over the floor, and some of our new plates we just got for Chrisrtmas had chips missing from them. In addition, only two guests had paid to stay, but our camping gear (which was put away and was not for use of our guests) had been rustled through and our sleeping bags were out on the couch (which we now need to take to the cleaner) so while we do not have proof, we are pretty sure more than 2 guests stayed. I sent a message to the guest when we got home asking about why our sleeping bags were out and the broken items, and they never responded. I do ask for a security deposit, but I am not quite sure how much I should request for the broken items, if I should bring up the extra guests again (usualyl we charge €30 per night per extra person), the cleaning costs for our camping gear, or if I should just let it go but stop renting out our place. 

Thoughts are very welcome.

2 Replies 2
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA