[FESTIVAL] Hospitality also means eating together

Quincy
Community Manager
Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

[FESTIVAL] Hospitality also means eating together

Quincy_0-1662124093203.jpeg

Screenshot 2022-09-02 at 09.47.18.png

This article is part of the Community Center's Festival of Hospitality 2022. The original  topic  was posted in the Italian-speaking Community Center by @Dario0 and we have translated it below.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Carbonara recipe

Meeting many guests sometimes also means sharing a nice plate of pasta... Cooked well. Have you ever eaten with your guests? 

Well, I may not be able to offer everyone a dish of good Italian pasta, but I can share the real recipe for pasta alla carbonara with you. And believe me, I'm from Rome: I've been practicing the art of pasta alla carbonara for many years. 

Here's the recipe: think of me when you eat it and it will be like we've eaten together with our guests virtually!

Ingredients for 2 people:

- 200 g of pasta

- 100 g of pecorino (hard sheep's cheese, typical of the Rome area)

- 150 g of pork cheek

- 2 whole eggs

- pepper to taste

As for which type of pasta to use to make this dish, I suggest you choose from spaghettoni, tortiglioni or mezze maniche.

There aren't many ingredients, so opt for quality. The flavor of this simple dish lies in the ingredients that you pick.

You need pork cheek, eggs and pecorino, a lot of pecorino.

Remove the rind (the hard part) from the pork cheek, cut it into small cubes and fry it in a pan without adding oil. I make it nice and crunchy by frying it twice. I do it once, wait for it to cool down a bit and let it brown again. Then I beat the eggs well in a glass salad bowl. I add the pecorino cheese and pepper and make a kind of cream. If it's too dry I add a little cooking water, but if it's too liquid you can add more pecorino cheese.