False booking and unfair response rate drop.

Catherine-and-Bob0
Level 3
Bridgewater, Australia

False booking and unfair response rate drop.

Hi All,

New host here so please be gentle!

I have 6 five star reviews on the trot and have worked very hard to exceed guest expectations and present a beautiful property.  But at the moment I'm feeling so down about Airbnb and its response to my efforts and comms that I'm seriously thinking of giving it away and maybe moving to a more reasonable platform - one that doesn't beat me up for stuff that is not under my control. 

The short story is that last Saturday I received a false booking from someone who just wanted to sell her hampers.  She stated in her enquiry that she had no intention of booking.  As a newbie, I saw the enquiry was just a sales pitch and got back to it when I could (I weas busy with my current guests).  I didn't realise a false booking was attached to the enquiry (false as confirmed by her enquiry).  So of course my reponse rating and consequent listing of my property has taken a big hit. 

I've rung Airbnb twice now and emailed them trying to get the booking deleted from my account and the response rating reversed which should be simple from their end.  And no response - they are still 'investigating' (for heavens sake, what is there to investigate except to have a look at my listing and account?).  And why don't they hold themselves to the same standards they set everyone else and respond within a timely 24 hours? And why are they so hard on hosts and so biased towards guests? And why should I have to run a complete booking process for a clearly false booking where I get punished if I decline and  I can't accept the  booking because its false?   Shouldn't Airbnb standards only apply to true bookings? 

Ugh!! Tears of absolute frustration here.  How do you get Aiurbnb to respond? 😞

Anyway...  rant over.  Feeling very down about this and wondering why on earth I bother.