Fire pit

Tara536
Level 2
Wangi Wangi, Australia

Fire pit

Hi I’m new to hosting Airbnb. I’m wondering if it’s sensible to have an outdoor fire pit.

It will be in a safe area ??

14 Replies 14
Beth276
Level 2
Munich, Germany

Guests do love a fire pit, but I got rid of ours because they tempt guests to stay up late, drinking around the fire pit and annoying the neighbors. 

@Tara536  I wouldn't recommend offering an outdoor fire pit without first consulting Fire & Rescue (shout out to Station 485) and your insurance provider(s). 

Guests do enjoy features like these, and it could help attract more bookings, but without a host onsite to supervise, there is a lot that could go wrong that Airbnb may not cover. So you'd have to cover all your bases with safety features and liability, and weigh whether doing so is worth the value the feature adds to your listing. 

Mark116
Level 10
Jersey City, NJ

@Tara536  From the map on your listing,  it looks like the neighbors are quite close, so I would say no, that the risk of problems outweighs the potential benefits. 

Brenda328
Level 10
South Dakota, United States

I have a beautiful location in the mountains with a spot that would be perfect for a firepit (and it is in a safe area).  The primary reason I don't have one is that I have a wooded lot and after guests picked up every piece of wood that was laying on the ground, they would then begin breaking branches off my trees to burn in the firepit.

I have two other properties that are in a vacation resort communities and I have firepits on the back concrete patios of both of those homes.  Guests love them and because it is a vacation resort community the majority of the houses nearby are also occupied by guests so usually no complaints.

Just like everything in real estate:  location, location, location!  🙂

Lawrene0
Level 10
Florence, Canada