Goverment ID verification

Bobbie-Esra0
Level 2
Frederiksberg, Denmark

Goverment ID verification

Hi, 

I am new at using the community and I don't rent out on a regular basis, only when I travel, so sometimes I discover the new platform/dashboard/setting option a bit later. 

To my horror, I just realised that "Goverment ID verification" is now only for instant bookings 😞 

How and when did that happen? And why?

I have two cats and elderly neighbours. After a few trial and error on picking guests, I have developped a good routine on how to choose my guests. 

My priority is having someone taking care of my cats and my flat, while I try to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I charge a bit less as well, as they have to take care of the cats. 

I always have this nervousness that something might happen, as I live in an elderly friendly building too. Once or twice I felt my cats being a bit nervous after I rented out to some guests. 

Therefor I can't use instant booking, as I can't always be sure if they are into cats (even though my listing says cats. they go for the price).

And my biggest comfort for avoiding scams, was that the guests have to be approved with ID verification and now that is gone 😞 

Anyone can fake emails and phone numbers. 

I just got a 3week request by someone in the US, saying they will visit their daughter, but there are many dodgy things about the email and profile, and just saw now too late that they are not ID verified. This makes me nervous as they could be anyone.

Anyone else has issues with this change? Why should I feel forced to use instant booking? I like having the initial personal messaging in the beginning. After all, this is not a business for me.

7 Replies 7
Steve143
Level 10
Limerick, Ireland

Hello @Bobbie-Esra0,

You can still require guests to have government ID verification even though don't have instant book turned on.