Great Comments, 5 stars in the categories but 4 stars for overall...?

Claire107
Level 1
Queenstown, New Zealand

Great Comments, 5 stars in the categories but 4 stars for overall...?

Hi all!  I am pretty new to hosting but have had a few bookings now.

I have been getting really nice comments and 5 star ratings from my guests on the categories of cleanliness, accuracy, location, value, communication and arrival, however these same guest that are giving me 5 stars for all of these are leaving an overall rating of 4 stars - I'm at a real loss...any ideas out there or other hosts who have successfully remedied a similar situation.

All suggestions most appreciated

34 Replies 34

Hi I'd like to know the same. 

I have had that with the last two and it lowers your overall average when you take into account a few that actually don't review at all. Very disappointing.

Trine0
Level 4
Copenhagen, Denmark

it is the big mistake in airbnb setup with their stars. For what one guest  state as 5 stars are for another guest 'only' 4 stars. As long as airbnb keeps the current system, the 'error' will occur!

Deborah82
Level 10
Toodyay, Australia

Do either of you think that the five star reviews are being negated or down graded to four stars, due to the ones that aren't leaving a review perhaps?

I too am new to Airbnb - we had our first guests last night - so I'd be most interested to hear why you've got a four star rating with five stars in the categories. Most curious.

if it's the guests leaving four star reviews after categorising your accommodation as five stars, then perhaps they expected more of the accommodation that was provided. In other words, they were disappointed?

I don't know, I'm just hazarding guesses here.

Regardless, I do hope you can sort it out, and would be very interested to hear the reasoning behind it too.

good luck!

Loving the Airbnb community and it’s diversity❣️