How to become a grout cleaning master

Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

How to become a grout cleaning master

I cleaned the grout in the shower using a technique I have never tried before but which was so good I thought I'd better share it.

I put some vinegar in a spray bottle, sprayed on the tiles, threw bicarb at it (on a horizontal surface this would be easier, but it worked with some repeated effort) and scrubbed as the vinegar hissed away. Rinse, and the grout looks as new. Amazing! I have tried everything under the sun before, but nothing works as well or as cheaply.

Vinegar fights mould, too.

106 Replies 106
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

@Sandra126 Ah, good ol' vinegar....so useful in so many ways! 🙂

Dee9
Level 10
Moriches, NY

white vinegar? and what is bicarb? thank you

Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

@Dee9, yes, ordinary white vinegar. I buy big bottles of cheap stuff from the supermarket as I clean with it a lot, just never on the grout before. Bicarb is Bicarbonate of Soda, it is possible that Americans call it Baking Soda??? Comes in a cardboard box usually, and you can leave an open container to absorb smells in the fridge, you can clean anything with it, you can use it to bake gingerbread, you can pour it in the bathwater, a tonne of uses. For a toilet which needs a deep and easy clean, pour generously into the bowl before you go to bed, let it sit all night. In the morning, a quick scrub and you have the cleanest toilet in seconds.

When you put vinegar on bicarb, it hisses as it reacts which adds a certain element of cleaning excitement.

THANK YOU!

Still giggling over adding some cleaning excitement to my life, @Sandra126. I truly loved your choice of words.

Jude

Petra84
Level 1
Bratislava, Slovakia

Who doesnt need a bit of "cleaning excitement" in their life? What a lovely choice of words! 😂👏