How to become a grout cleaning master

Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

How to become a grout cleaning master

I cleaned the grout in the shower using a technique I have never tried before but which was so good I thought I'd better share it.

I put some vinegar in a spray bottle, sprayed on the tiles, threw bicarb at it (on a horizontal surface this would be easier, but it worked with some repeated effort) and scrubbed as the vinegar hissed away. Rinse, and the grout looks as new. Amazing! I have tried everything under the sun before, but nothing works as well or as cheaply.

Vinegar fights mould, too.

106 Replies 106

And here is my holy grail of grout cleaning: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flfAc_jMzvM.  I burned up the motor on my drill I cleaned it so well!!

[links removed]

Nice to have this suggestion!

David196
Level 4
Singapore

Personally I perfer minimal hassle so I engaged a grout sealing company Sirgrout to seal my grout so it makes it much easier to clean, prevents any dirt or anything else from entering the grout.

I didn't know there was such a thing.  I'll look into sealing.  Thank you for the suggestion!

Ma0
Level 7
Los Angeles, CA

This sound like a great way to clean. Thank you.

Lynus0
Level 2
Los Angeles, CA

A grout paint is sold that qorks really well. Just apply with a toothbrush, then wipe and presto!

looks brand new

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

My cleaner has now been AWOL for more than a month, during which time I've had back to back guests. When I started doing all the cleaning myself, I realised the house is nowhere near as clean as it should be, so I've been constantly scrubbing and wiping and dusting. I'm getting a bit obsessed!