Guest Cancellation Host Penalisation

Peter316
Level 2
Dublin, Ireland

Guest Cancellation Host Penalisation

Hi, This is my first time posting here.

A guest checked out yesterday (Sunday) and during cleaning for my next guest due to arrive today (Monday), I discovered my water tank was refilling very slowly and I couldn't run the washing machine or dishwasher. I called my plumber friend to come out but the soonest he could come have a look was after work, late Monday afternoon.

As I was unable to complete the cleaning of the plates and cutlery I messaged my guest that I would be happy to partially refund the cleaning fee. I added that since there is a water issue, they would have to let a plumber into the apartment the afternoon of their arrival at which point they would have the water restored. I also let them know that I would understand if they decided to cancel and that I would make sure they received a complete refund.

The guest replied asking if they would be able to shower. As they were arriving in the morning I thought maybe the tank would refill over night and allow for a shower but I wasn't sure so I told the guest that I wouldn't be able to guarantee that the shower would work. I got no further responses from the guest and so I figured they would decide to cancel their booking so I thought it might be nice if I called Airbnb.

I explained the situation; that I was happy for the guests to stay, and maybe Airbnb wanted to reach out to them and help them find other properties should that be their desire to stay somewhere with working water facilities upon arrival. I thought I was being a helpful superhost to the guest and to Airbnb trying to ensure they found alternate digs at the last minute and also remained on platform. The customer service rep said he would contact the guest and minutes later the booking was cancelled with no message to me from either the guest or customer service.