Guest Issue - What would you do?

Brooke24
Level 2
Evanston, IL

Guest Issue - What would you do?

Hi all! I have been hosting for two years (2 properties) and I encountered something last night that I’ve never had happen before. 

I had a Guest check into our house yesterday evening. She then left to go to a wedding and returned at 12:30AM. I thought she had already removed the key from the lock box when she came in initially, but she hadn’t. The door had been unlocked (the Airbnb is in our home and we were home). She told me she HAD used the lockbox. So I had no concern about whether she had the key.

When she got back from the wedding, she managed to open the lock box but the key must have tumbled out when she did this. This has never happened before and we’ve hosted a couple hundred folks in our house. So she was locked out at 12:30 AM. We don’t have a doorbell so she started banging on the door and spent an hour banging on the door during which time she broke the glass in the window next to our front door. When we finally woke up from the banging, she had been out there for an hour. She was not happy, understandably, and did not understand how the lockbox worked. She thought that the lock box just opened our door (like a remote keypad - does that even exist?) and did not understand that there was supposed to be a key inside and that the key must have fallen when she opened the lockbox. In my messages to her before her stay, I had explained all of the following: how the lockbox worked; that it contained a key; what lock the key was to be used for, etc.