Guest Smoking Despite Clear No Smoking Policy - No Security Deposit

Kayla26
Level 2
West Melbourne, Australia

Guest Smoking Despite Clear No Smoking Policy - No Security Deposit

Hi all, while I've been using Airbnb as a guest for many years, I'm new to hosting (just posted my listing a week ago today).  We have our third guests tonight, who are staying for one night.  I only have one house rule - absolutely no smoking inside or outside the house.  This is stated on the listing and I clearly state that no smoking is allowed inside or out and that any violaters will be asked to leave immediately.  I'm very allergic to smoke and I have asthma attacks when exposed to smoke, which I also mentioned in my listing.  About 30 minutes after our guests arrived, we started smelling pervasive smoke from all the way upstairs and on the other side of the home.  We went down and knocked on the door and asked if the guest were smoking and one of the gentleman said he was just smoking in the bathroom.  We told him that the listing was absolutely no smoking inside or out, and that I was very allergic and asthmatic, and if he absolutely had to smoke that he could walk down the street and do it.  The other gentleman was very apologetic, but I am absolutely appalled that someone would smoke in the house after that is literally the only rule we have.  I did not list a security deposit on the listing; do I have any recourse?  I saw that some of the forums mentioned that you have to evidence.  I'm not sure what I can submit as far as evidence but the guest freely admitted it and I imagine that the cigarette butt is probably in my brand new plastic trash can that's in the bathroom.  There's not a window in the bathroom so I'm very concerned about being able to air it out and remove the pungent smoke smell.  Please advise.

10 Replies 10
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

Having a security deposit is really immaterial, what cost have you incurred?

David
Kate157
Level 10
SF, CA