Guest break house rules

Guest break house rules

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to Airbnb. I've really enjoyed being a host and have had a few not so great experiences but none as bad as this one- 

I recently had a guest book for 4 nights with 5 guest on the reservation. The guest showed up with +4 (which there's normally an additional fee for that). The guest then decided to tamper with an outer perimeter camera by covering it with a item. If that wasn't enough, the guest decided to have a 15+ gathering without notifying us- all of this within the first 24hrs of the reservation beginning. I will say that all these things are listed under our rules and policies on the Airbnb site and in our host home. Airbnb was notified and immediately they canceled the reservation and the guest, along with everyone else, left the home but not before threatening to get a lawyer involved. I can't seem to get a supervisor from Airbnb to contact me to see how I'm protected/covered by situations like this or if I'm on my own. 

Any advice, specially on similar experiences are greatly appreciated.

3 Replies 3
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Kelly1553 Airbnb is basically just a listing site. They have no in-person presence on the ground so it is important that hosts recognise they need to arrange their own local security if needed.

In the very unlikely event the guest does sue you then you will need to rely on Airbnb's liability insurance (part of Aircover). I suggest you read the terms of Aircover to ensure you notify them if (and its a big if) the guest involves a lawyer.

Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

When a guest covers cameras its normally because they are about to break your house rules, so I would have been on the phone to the guest straight away to tell them to remove the covering immediately. @Kelly1553 

As Mike said Airbnb is simply a booking platform. It's your STR business and up to you to enforce your house rules.