Guest brought bed bugs, and now I'm screwed

Kelly28
Level 1
Los Angeles, CA

Guest brought bed bugs, and now I'm screwed

So a guest brought bed bugs into my home. Airbnb refunded him, and canceled all my pending bookings. Now I have to pay out of pocket $1000 to have an exterminator come (airbnb requires an exterminator to relist), not to mention the booking I lost.

Has anyone got any tips or ideas on reducing risk? What cities and parts of the world are known to have serious bedbug problems? I have heard NYC has a serious problem, I am thinking of not accepting any guests from there. Ideas? 

65 Replies 65
Cindy163
Level 2
Novato, CA

I have been renting my Kauai home for 27 years and this is the first time I had bed bugs.  Fortunately, I found them myself before anyone complained.  I went to stay at the house for three weeks to check on everything and do the usual maintenance and cleaning only an owner can do.  After the second night, I noticed bites on myself and thought it was from sand fleas at the beach. After the third night, I had bites from head to toe.  My pest control company confirmed bed bugs.  The best, safest solution was tent fumigation of the house:  $3300.00.  So, that is what I did.  

bb

That's horrendous! So sorry Cindy. One more thing to worry about now >.<

A bedbug free room for years which suddenly has bed bugs  means a guest has brought them in.  The guest can then demand a refund, write a bad review, and you have to pay $1200 for a pro treatment.  Or a guest who is denied a refund can claim to have seen bedbugs, get the refund, cost you $1200, and a bad review.  Airbnb policy punishes the host when guests bring in bed bugs and  any guest can lie about bedbugs and get refund and force you to pay $1200.  Time for a change.