Guest 'crossing the line' and missinterprating my hospitality

Efrossyni0
Level 2
Athens, Greece

Guest 'crossing the line' and missinterprating my hospitality

Hello, I am new in airbnb and already hosted 4 guests. As a medium to express my hospitality, I offer breakfast to my guest: I have a place in the fridge and a place on the table, where I put goods. The guests are informed about it. In my current airbnb guest, I indicated the breakfast goods as soon as he arrived (2 a.m. in the night -I was so kind to wait for him!!!) and I also offered him to try from the food I was preparing one evening. The next day, I was away and when I came back home, he told me with a big smile that he liked very much the pasta he cooked! I looked in my cabinet and I realized that without asking me, he took a packet of my pasta and cooked it. He also opened a parmesan cheese package for the pasta to taste better!!! 

I felt really angry because I believe he crossed the line of hospitality. I told him that the pasta was a present and he told me that he was thinking to ask me if he can use it and that he choose the wrong package, without mentioning the obvious fact that he eat my goods, without my permission. I feel mad about it, but I am thinking to avoid any longer discussion with him because I do not want to provoke a revenge - review from him. What would you suggest me to do?

11 Replies 11
Cynthia-and-Chris1
Level 10
Vancouver, WA

Just be calm and honest with your guest.  Let him know the only food included is the breakfast food you placed out and to please not help himself to anything else.  If you approach him calmly and firmly, an understanding person would be fine.

He did over step the line, but in the end its a small thing and not worth getting a bad review over. One of my guests left the iron on resting on the desk.  Not down facing thank heavens.  Its part of what we go through, 99 percent of people do the right thing.