Guest had plumbing issue

Marta410
Level 2
Montrose, CO

Guest had plumbing issue

Hello,

I am new to Airbnb, and up until this weekend it has been pretty flawless with renting out my space and not having any issues with guests.  With that said,  I currently have a guest staying at my rental, they rented for 5 nights, and on their second night of their stay contacted me with the following message:

Sorry to bother you but we have a serious plumbing problem. We are unable to use the lower storey sinks, the washing machine, the upper storey sinks and the dishwasher. The lower storey floorgrate is overflowing and causing flooding in the laundry floor. We need a plumber ASAP.
Also the main bedroom in the upper storey has no PowerPoints working.

Thanks heaps can you email & let us know what’s happening ASAP.

I since then have called a handyman to handle the outlets in the bedroom, and had a plumber fix the clogged drain.  All is fixed now, however, the tenant was inconvenienced for 2 days.  I am unsure what caused the clogged sink, backing up the plumbing downstairs, however I am not sure if I should refund the tenant or not?  Is it typical to refund the funds for the days they had plumbing issues (ie. 2 days)?   Any feedback would be appreciated.

8 Replies 8
Mariana268
Level 2
Malibu, CA

I think you should take the initiative and ask what they expect as compensation for the two days that you had a plumbing issue. 

I would certainly suggest refunding them for the days they were inconvenienced. Given the severity of the issue, despite its resolution, it still reflects poorly on your hosting. In my opinion, the cost of two days' rent isn't worth risking a negative review and an upset guest.

Fred13
Level 10
Placencia, Belize