Guest no show, now wants to cancel & refund, I am worried that she may put 1 star

Answered!
Michelle266
Level 3
Vancouver, Canada

Guest no show, now wants to cancel & refund, I am worried that she may put 1 star

Hello guys,

Hope this message finds everyone well 🙂

I am very new to hosting, and this is my 4th guest.

She books for a week from yesterday (19th November) and said she would be coming at about 3 PM. When I emailed her around 3 to check if she is still coming on time, she said that she would be 'late' and will text me (she  never did). We waited until 1 AM and sent her sms/call/emails/airbnb messages repeatedly to no reply! I even got worried because she mentioned that she will be travelling alone!

This  morning, she texted me back saying she will be 'staying at her friend's' and asks me to cancel. I have asked her to cancel from her end but she has not got back to me. I worry that she may not cancel from her end, and as AirBnB thinks the booking is still through, she may put 1 star on our review despite the fact that she did not stay at all.

Any suggestions for this? 😞

Thanks everyone!

Michelle

1 Best Answer
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

First - you are right that you should not cancel.

Second, keep all correspondence on the AirBnB platform.

Third: she cannot leave a review if she did not stay.

Fourth: you should not give a refund as she was so inconsiderate and rude in leaving you waiting like that.