Guest's allergies to laundry detergent

Answered!
Ali40
Level 10
Crozet, VA

Guest's allergies to laundry detergent

I'm fairly new to Airbnb and hosted my 3rd guests this weekend.

Upon check out they messaged me and said they both have allergies and that most laundry detergent brands have a "sensitive or fragrance free option" as they were sensitive to the smell of freshly laundered linens.

They left the apartment tidy, and I didn't hear a word from them until check out about the linens, and if they had told me about their allergies when they booked the apartment, I would have made sure the linens were washed in a fragrance free detergent.

They haven't left a review yet, and I wrote them a good review, as they were good guests. But shouldn't they have infomed me ahead of time if they had such sensitivities? I've also contacted everyone currently booked and asked about allergies AND added to the house rules to let me know if they need the linens washed in frangrance free detergent. 

Ali

1 Best Answer
Paul154
Level 10
Seattle, WA

Unless you advertise and offer a Hypo-allergenic stay (and premium price), I would do nothing.

Your home, your rules, your cleaning routine.

It is not in my interest to explain my cleaning routine/choice of cleaning products with guests. 

My answer to mold/allergy requests is to say "I'm sorry I cannot guarantee your health in my home"  I'm not a Doctor, biochemist or psychiatrist and have no need to expose myself to a lawsuit. 

If they give timely notice (they cancel sooner than later) I will refund them.

That said, I don't have mold in my home. I don't use air fresheners and do keep air circulation in my house.

Keep it simple

View Best Answer in original post

39 Replies 39
Alicia294
Level 2
Portland, OR