Guest stealing items

Cheryl130
Level 2
Brisbane City, Australia

Guest stealing items

I am new to Airbnb and have just hosted my very first guest in a fully self contained home. We went over and above to host this particular guest and find now that the guest has stolen a desk lamp (of all things). It's only worth $6, but nevertheless, I would have expected better of an older couple who had good reviews. I am wondering how the deposit works with Airbnb if they were. for example, to steal the television set.  Are such items covered by the Airbnb insurance policy? How much is the insurance excess if I make a claim? How long have I got after the guest checks out to make a claim? Does Airbnb hold onto the guest's deposit for 'X' number of days unless I make a claim in the meantime?

41 Replies 41

I think Lisa is right about finding the lamp, it's surprising to me that even though people are there for a few days they have to redecorate. If you look around you will probably find it next to a bed or someplace where a person may do some reading. 

And soap, tp, coffee k-cups, and first aid supplies top my list of things that disappear. I guess people don't consider that stealing.  And since it's not worth making a big deal of it there isn't really anything you can do except think of it as it goes with the territory.

Marie909
Level 2
Covington, GA

Hi I am a new host myself. I think if you’re not home 24/7 you shouldn’t be hosting for Airbnb guests. Having said that you cannot tell me you’re going to hand your home key to a stranger and not checking on him or her. If you do that you set your home to being trashed and vandalized. I am a self employed in my home, that didn’t prevent people from stealing towels, a decorative bottle and keys that was for other rooms that they were not staying in. I ended up changing the front entrance lock and some other rooms lock. Because if someone tried to steal keys, they probably have something fishy in their agenda about your home.