Guest stealing items

Cheryl130
Level 2
Brisbane City, Australia

Guest stealing items

I am new to Airbnb and have just hosted my very first guest in a fully self contained home. We went over and above to host this particular guest and find now that the guest has stolen a desk lamp (of all things). It's only worth $6, but nevertheless, I would have expected better of an older couple who had good reviews. I am wondering how the deposit works with Airbnb if they were. for example, to steal the television set.  Are such items covered by the Airbnb insurance policy? How much is the insurance excess if I make a claim? How long have I got after the guest checks out to make a claim? Does Airbnb hold onto the guest's deposit for 'X' number of days unless I make a claim in the meantime?

41 Replies 41
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

It is important for all hosts to understand both the security deposit  and the host protection, @Cheryl130.  Having stated that, I wonder how many of us really understand insurance.  Anyway, don't sweat the little stuff ($6 lamps) but understand the process for the big ticket items.  Like all insurance (including security deposit) you need proof it was the actions of the guest that caused ALL the damage.  Sometimes it is very clear, but sometimes there are normal wear and tear aspects to the damage.  

Loss as opposed to damage requires that the loss or theft be provably attributed to the guest.  

All this is difficult and many of us have a new respect for the job of a prosecuting attorney.  

That you are not clear about the security deposit indicates you might benefit from reviewing some of the hosting articles in the Help Center about hosting basic.  Security deposit is not collected by Air BNB.   Instead Air BB just reserves the ability to access the credit card used to pay for the reservation should there be a claim.

Good luck!!

Deb29
Level 9
San Mateo, CA