Guest wants to cancel 16 hours before checkin. Mistaken private room as entire suite. Bad Review?

Guest wants to cancel 16 hours before checkin. Mistaken private room as entire suite. Bad Review?

I'm fairly new to hosting, and all my experiences have been great so far. I've been doing my best to give my guests great hospitality, but this one incident is the first one that has made me a little worried. 

So one of my private bedroom listings received a booking about a month ago for checkin 8/26 and checkout 8/29. I sent her checkin instructions 3 days before, and she just messaged me today asking me for more details about the place such as whether the other rooms have guests. She also admits that she thought she booked an entire suite which has gotten my extremely concerned. I don't want her to give me a bad review because of a mistake she made. She's also asking if she can cancel now, 16 hours before her check in, and if she can get a refund. Of course, I don't want to give the refund because I know in this little of a time, I won't be able to fill the room as she had it booked for the last month. Is there anything that is protecting me from a potential bad review? Just want to make sure I have an actionable plan to prepare for a scenario like this. Thanks!

10 Replies 10
Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Henley0  Just tell her she can cancell and will be refunded according to your cancellation policy.

Thanks @Branka-and-Silvia0. I just told her that. She's unhappy about the fact that she can't get a refund if she were to cancel and is now complaining that I put up pictures of the front of the house which shows a single family home. I'm trying to explain that the house is also part of the listing and that there are common areas shared.

My main concern is a bad review if she does choose to stay. Obviously she's not happy about the booking, and there isn't much I can do. I just want to make sure I get a justified review.