Guest who booked is sick

Steven18
Level 1
Chicago, IL

Guest who booked is sick

Greetings Airbnb community!

I have been hosting for several years now and this is the first time I've encountered this issue. For the privacy of those involved, the names have been changed. 

Karen booked a night at my Airbnb. Karen got sick. I reached out to Karen this morning to see what time she'll be arriving. Karen responded by saying 'I'm sick unfortunately however some friends of mine will be staying at your place instead of me and they'll be in touch shortly.'

Am I right in thinking this is kind of bogus? I live in the apartment with the Airbnb room so I prefer to know who will be staying with me. 

Cheers and thanks!

8 Replies 8
Ed-and-Hugh0
Level 10
Miami, FL

Report to Airbnb immediately and ask them to cancel the reservation.

Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Scam...

Evelyn0
Level 10
Arkport, NY

Like other stated report to Airbnb and keep all communication to Karen via the platform. Let her know that you can't accept other people utilizing her booking since Airbnb doesn't allow for third party booking which is what this has become.

But contact Airbnb.

Pernille5
Level 2
kbh, Denmark

How do I report to Airbnb? My guest has been hospitalised and his mother has contacted me (by making a fake request of her own the days following). His mother was to have accompanied him, but they are now cancelling the whole trip.IF his mother can get into his account, I think they are just within the 5-day cancellation... but it will look bad on my wrap-sheet if I cancel the reservation... and what if there is something wrong with the whole matter? ...So HOW do I get in touch with airbnb?? It used to be easy, i've done it once before (6 yrs ago) but now all i find is pre-written general answers and this community? 

The only real answer I've found is to never make a change on a guests behalf. 

Please help. 

Pernille