Guests Expectations

Juliette64
Level 1
Indianapolis, IN

Guests Expectations

I am very new to hosting, two months in, but have already had more guests than I expected I would. I have a very detailed description of the listing and ameneties, as well as photos (some of the photos did not load correctly and I am in the process of deleting and replacing) and am offering something that may be for a somewhat niche group. I think some of my guests booked because of the pricing. I have had a mix of great experiences, and not so great. What I'm most befuddled and frustrated about are those who mark my ratings low for accuracy, when these things were very clearly listed in the desciption and every other applicable place. I have even asked guests to review the listing again before they commit. Is there something else I should be doing to address this? So many professional property people have gotten into this biz, that I think some guests are forgetting how it all started, and that we are not all the same.

15 Replies 15
Hilary-And-Ed0
Level 10
Brookline, MA

Hello @Juliette64,

You will just get some people who mark you down for accuracy because they don't read carefully, or because they assume some things should be there, even if you stated clearly that they aren't.

Don't worry too much - those reviews will be buried under al the positive ones.  You can just reiterate some points in your messaging, such as "just a reminder that this is a retreat for unplugging, so no wifi" (if that is the case) to make extra clear some of those points people have complained about.