Guests Expectations

Tina240
Level 2
Lyons, NE

Guests Expectations

I am new to hosting, only two months now.  Even though my rooms are full most of the time, a couple of my guests  have left me a four star rating due to cleanliness. One stating dust, and the other stating the bathroom, (which is shared with other guests) could have been better.  My home is 125 years old and it's in the middle of renovations. The dust is extremely minimal, and only in the areas of renovation, which is blocked off from the remainder of the house. As far as the bathroom,  I clean it every day with bleach. However, it does have a slight discoloration in the old bathtub. I feel these guess were expecting a five-star hotel rather than a room to rent for the night or two they were here. I  provide lots of little extras such as fruits cereal milk water and a little essentials that they may have forgotten . What else can I do to prevent the lower ratings when my house is clearly stated as being under renovations? 

7 Replies 7
Fred13
Level 10
Placencia, Belize

Perhaps during your guest selection you should ask them: 'Are you a fan of the TV program 'Monk'? That will give you a clue they may not fit your place. You said you like humor. 🙂

You have a temporary situation, remodeling your home, perhaps accepting not 'perfect' scores would be easier on you.  You do come across very well, and your guest do appear to be very happy with your most ~charming and interesting~ home.

Sean14
Level 5
Northampton, United Kingdom

I have the same issue - guests expecting too much for the price. The advice I have received which I'm trying to follow is to be up front with all the guests about the condition before they book. Then they have the right expectations before they arrive.

Tanya109
Level 2
Grass Valley, CA