Guests always wanting to communicate outside the airbnb platform.....

Gina12
Level 2
Brook Park, OH

Guests always wanting to communicate outside the airbnb platform.....

I am new to this.  Why would a guest want to communicate outside the platform, and what if they would like to come see the space before they book?  Just trying to protect myself from potential problems.  Thank you!

24 Replies 24
Maria-Lurdes0
Level 10
Union City, NJ

Hey @Gina12  The guests are trying to get you to do the booking privately, so they don't have to pay the 6%-12% service fee.  

Don't agree to "site visits".  I have allowed someone to come and check out a place once in six years of hosting on Airbnb.  I have good picures, an accurate description and a lot of reviews.  Take it or leave it!

Dede0
Level 10
Austin, TX

Exactly what @Maria-Lurdes0 said. Anyone wanting to communicate outside of AirBnB's system is someone working an angle. You don't want to mess with them and you don't really want or need their business. It will inevitably cost you more than you might gain. That kind of guest always leads to more and more problematic requests. For which, once you've drifted outside AirBnB, you have no recourse.

If you find this helpful, consider clicking the Thumbs Up button near the lower right. Thanks!