Guests' motivations to stay at my place?

Guests' motivations to stay at my place?

Hello community,

I'm new to AirBNB, offering my 2BR apartment in one of residential suburbs of Sydney (Bankstown).

This suburb is not very "glamorous" - it's not so close to the sea, and not so close to where Sydney attractions are located.

So I wonder if anyone have some ideas on this:

- Why would people choose to come and stay such an apartment? I doubt that they come for a holiday. Would it be a business trip? Study? Something else?

- How long would most of them want to stay? 

- What is the composition of the group? Would it be a family? Or perhaps a  group of friends? Colleagues?

I'm trying to figure out the best way of offering it in terms of price, facilities and length of stay, and if I understand guest's motivation and thinking, it would help me in planning.

Thanks for helping!

7 Replies 7

@Igor393   There are plenty of very successful listings in locations far less central than yours, so I wouldn't count out the tourist market altogether.  Families or groups with cars will appreciate the spaciousness and the availability of secure parking. Business travelers might be needing proximity to a location in a nearby suburb rather than the CBD. In the short term you may get families visiting relatives or attending a function such as a wedding in your area. And tourists in town for a long stay may be happy to forgo some convenience in exchange for a quieter neighborhood and a lower price compared to listings in the most popular districts.