Guests saying they can't use the Airbnb app without WiFi

Helen0
Level 10
Manchester, United Kingdom

Guests saying they can't use the Airbnb app without WiFi

I have been hosting for over six years; I've had literally hundreds of guests from all over the world, staying in my own home and in several other properties that I've managed. Almost all guests communicate through the Airbnb smartphone app while they're travelling so that we can send and receive messages, for example to tell me if if they are delayed on their journey, and this works well 99% of the time but recently I've had a very small number of guests tell me that they can't use the app while they're in transit because they don't have access to WiFi. They usually tell me this to explain why they've only turned up to check-in several hours later than the agreed time and not responded to any of my messages asking for an update.

I don't really believe this excuse! For one thing, I use the app while I'm out and about all the time using a normal mobile phone signal and it works fine. I have also used the app while I have been travelling myself in several European countries - it has always worked fine, even on mobile phone networks that are not my usual one at home. Failing that, there are places everywhere these days (cafes, libraries, trains, every single branch of McDonald's for instance) where a traveller could access WiFi for free if they need to check details or send a message and really couldn't get online any other way. 

I am just wondering whether this is something other hosts are hearing from guests and whether there is any truth in it?