Guests unhappy about construction noise and want to move listing

Answered!
Laura1173
Level 2
Cape Town, South Africa

Guests unhappy about construction noise and want to move listing

I am relatively new to Airbnb hosting and have long-term guests who have been staying at my apartment for two months. They check out in 2 weeks. 

On Friday, they sent me a message complaining about noise from a nearby construction project and that I should have let them know about it. I did not mention the construction beforehand as I have had no complaints about noise over the last 6 months and when I was living in the flat, it was not disturbing.

I spoke to the builder and unfortunately they were busy with a very noisy part of the build - something beyond my control. I sent the guests apologies and confirmed that the noise should be finished this week, which the builders guaranteed.

This morning they sent me a message saying they are looking for other accommodation. They have not communicated via the Airbnb app.

What should I say in response? There really is nothing I can do about the noise. I have also already been paid out for the booking

Advice appreciated, thank you.

1 Best Answer
Alexandra316
Level 10
Lincoln, Canada

@Laura1173 sounds like they are fishing for a discount or their money back. I would bring all communication back to the Airbnb app immediately so everything is recorded properly. I would send them a message saying pretty much exactly what you've said here:

I did not mention the construction beforehand as I have had no complaints about noise over the last 6 months and when I was living in the flat, it was not disturbing. I spoke to the builder and unfortunately they were busy with a very noisy part of the build - something beyond my control. Noise should be finished this week, which the builders guaranteed.