Guests unhappy wants to leave? how do i avoid a bad review?

Guests unhappy wants to leave? how do i avoid a bad review?

Hi, I am brand new to hosting. I finished renovating a brand new house and have taken my first booking for an entire month. I offered a massive discount to two people from abroad who have never used AirBnB before. They asked lots of questions regarding the house and location etc and i was completely honest with them obviously. I gave them the full address before booking. They wanted to know the houses' location because their daughter lives locally (university student). Everything was fine at check in, they said the house was absolutely lovely. It is absolutely brand new and there are no other nice houses in my local area. I left them a welcome basket and made sure the place looked amazing.

However, at check in they were already mentioning about the location being quite far from where their daughter was living. They are from Italy and don't drive. I had a call from them the day after check in to say that they thought that the house smelt of paint... it has obviously just been renovated but i've had many friends call round to see the house and no one has mentioned anything apart from how nice the house is. I can't smell anything at all apart from a new smell from the new carpet etc. I obviously said that if they are not happy then perhaps they should cut the stay short and go to a hotel. They have looked around and can't find anything comparable because my house is currently half price (in the hope of getting some good reviews).

I offered a full refund the moment they said they couldnt stay there and wanted to help in anyway that i could. I know that there is absolutely no paint smell in the house and the location is the real problem but i haven't argued at all and just said that they are welcome to a full refund.