Had a question on when a guest breaks or damages and steals things.

Had a question on when a guest breaks or damages and steals things.

What is best practice and I am new to this. I had a quest kick a door off the hinges and steal some small items. Is there an insurance for this type of incident or is it best to charge there credit card. My concern is there credit card is tapped out and nothing to get. Any info would be great, thank you.

5 Replies 5
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Daniel8276  There is no means for a host to charge a guest's credit card. 

While you can follow the procedure Emiel linked to, do not assume that will always result in recompense. There is no insurance from Airbnb you can rely on. You should have your own private str insurance.

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Daniel8276 

Daniel, my method of dealing with this situation is not popular in the hosting community but, it is practical.

Your situation is, you have had an unsatisfactory guest. He has broken/stolen your property and the chance of you getting him to compensate you for that, are at best, extremely minimal.

You can pursue him, either on your own as a civil matter, or through the Airbnb resolution centre by reporting him. You can do that by clicking the 'Report' tab on your message stream with  that guest.

Experience has taught us all here that this will result in three outcomes.

1/.....The guest will be given 72 hours to respond to your claim, refuse to accept responsibility and will not provide any restitution.

2/....The guest will give you a revenge review because nobody likes being caught out, and he will need to justify himself.