Host protection of Inaccurate reviews and policy change

Pius7
Level 2
Houston, TX

Host protection of Inaccurate reviews and policy change

I have experienced my very first inaccurate guest review. A 3 star rating no less which just killed my stats and progress. Without going into a long explanation, I am a professional Realor, working full time mainly on corporate short-term stays and relocations. Therefore, what I do, I do to the smallest detail, ensuring I receive 5 star reviews. Until this one came in which bottom line was an outright lie.

What outlook does a host have? is there a protocol in place to have this removed, investigated or even renegotiated with the guest at the time? 

After contacting Airbnb support I was instructed that reviews can only be removed in rare instances.

Apparently, there is no set protocol to assist the host when the host can prove the review is false.

Am I alone in this world of hosting who has experienced this type of review or is this just an isolated incident where I should just forget about it?08_DSC_9498_mls.jpg

Pius Dawson
5 Replies 5
Gillian19
Level 10
St Leonards, Australia

@Pius7 not isolated, but nothing you can do about it. Worse still is that if the guest does something wrong and you call them on it, you can almost certainly expect a 1* rating which not only lowers your stats but also leads to emails telling you to do better.

Welcome to Airbnb and their ridiculous, childish rating system.

Pius7
Level 2
Houston, TX

Thanks Gillian, but in this case senario my communication with the guest was pleasant through the tenure of their stay. There were no maintenance call outs and no complaints. My listings are all highlighted with professional pictures and my cleanings are meticulous due to many guests coming in for cancer treatment. You could lick the floors, thats how clean my units are. Its still unfathomable that someone would blatently lie on a review even after I left them a very postive 5 star review.