Hosting in another city you don't live in

Sharyn-and-Colin0
Level 3
Yarram, Australia

Hosting in another city you don't live in

Hi everyone!

Was wondering if anyone can help. I have an appartment in another state from where I live and it's quiet a long flight from my state,  Australia being such a big country. Does anyone have any tips that they would like to share if they have any successful experiences in doing this or is it just way to hard to host properly if your property is not close by. Any little bit of information would greatly be appreciated.

14 Replies 14
Gillian19
Level 10
St Leonards, Australia

@Sharyn-and-Colin0 Hi Sharon, I've been hosting a couple of holiday houses for a couple of years a 3 hour drive from where I live. I have found the key to happy and stress free hosting is the following:

1. Get friendly with your neighbours as they will help keep an eye on the place and let you know if there are any issues you need to be aware of in your absence.

2. Get a good cleaner (and a back up one is helpful), handyman, electrician and plumber that you can call on in an emergency or just for general maintenance. These have proved invaluable when the unexpected happens (hot water not working; sink leaking; electric faults; all sorts of things you wouldn't think of!)

3. Be organised with your bookings and communication. Send plenty of details on access and how to contact you - give alternate numbers in case you are unavailable.

4. Make sure you are happy with the guests - I am very cautious over accepting bookings from groups of young people and take a great deal of note of how they write their requests. Polite, considerate and aware that I could be concerned usually gets a thumbs up. So far it has worked well.

Thank you so much Gillian for your advise. Unfortunatley I don't live close enough to get to know the neighbours, it's a 8 hour flight from where I live. However your tips are fantastic. Are you on istant book or request to book?