Hosting - noise from flat above

Jess76
Level 1
London, United Kingdom

Hosting - noise from flat above

Hi there,

I'm new to hosting and have just received my first booking 🙂 

I live in a nice, pretty Victorian ground floor conversion in London and it's lovely apart from the sound of people walking around in the flat above.  The people up there aren't doing anything noisy, it's just poor sound-proofing in an old building.  I have specified the potential for this noise in my listing.  I also mentioned it twice to my first guest before she booked, and she didn't seem to be bothered by it, as she then made the booking. 

However, the noise potential from the flat above always makes me nervous, as some guests really may be bothered by it and then leave negative reviews, ask for money off etc.  It's otherwise a lovely flat.  Has anyone else got a property that has poor sound-proofing?  And how do you deal with this with guests?  I plan to be upfront and honest about it before people book, so they know what to expect.  Has anyone had any complaints from guests about floorboard noise before?

Thanks, and all advice and experience greatly received!

Jess

9 Replies 9
Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Jess76

Difficult Jess, how well do you get on with the neighbours above? Is it possible  you could have a word with them and see if they can control the foot noise a bit! Perhaps put in a floor rug or two in the main traffic areas

You are right, it is going to be an issue, not too many guests are going to be comfortable, particularly if there are young kids involved upstairs! They seem to create 5 times as much noise as adults.

You have to be really upfront about it, much like owning a dog....you need to be sure potential guests are aware of the situation because they will want to cancel and get a refund if it is sprung on them!