Hosting using a corporate legal entity

Jon1
Level 1
United States

Hosting using a corporate legal entity

I want to add additional properties but I want to do so using a corporate entity like LLC to provide some legal protection to myself personally. Currently my profile is just me and with a verified ID.

Does anyone else have experience hosting as a LLC? Can I edit my account or can u make a new one?

Lastly, if this isn't possible how are other hosts of multiple properties managing the risk involved, beyond just rental property insurance?
12 Replies 12
Maria-Lurdes0
Level 10
Union City, NJ

I host under my name, but my payments go to the bank account of my LLC.  I've been doing it for two years, and my accountant understands how it all works and we pay corporate taxes and personal taxes.  My profile has nothing to do with the LLC, it's just the LLC that owns the property/rents the property, depending on my listing.   We do a bit of finetuning every year, as we're learning as we grow - but this is how we work things for now.

Thanks for the feedback, Maria. A follow up question though: The LLC owns the property, but a guest is renting from you personally through the site. If the guest has some catastrophe, wouldn't he/she be led to sue you personally, since it's you that he has a "contract" with through the airbnb platform? In this case, the LLC doesn't provide you that protection you need?

Also, have you found anything else online from Airbnb or elsewhere relating to this? It seems like it's relevant to all full-time airbnb properties? 

Thanks

Hi Jon,

We just came out with this very content for rideshare drivers and in the process of tailoring it for Homesharing Hosts:

http://www.sharedeconomycpa.com/blog/should-i-incorporate-or-llc-my-rideshare-income

Let me know if you have any follow-up questions.

Best,

Derek

HI, We own a summer home as an LLC and are thinking of listing on Air BnB.  Would you mind sharing what you have learned about this?

thanks