Hosts in the Philippines - Share your experiences please

Olive7
Level 1
Manila, Philippines

Hosts in the Philippines - Share your experiences please

I am new to airbnb and considering enlisting as a host here in the Philippines.  I am just wondering about the security of the house, particularly on the items inside like kitchenware and small appliances.

I would like to hear from other hosts in the Philippines if they had experienced theft or damage and how it was settled. 

Thank you!

24 Replies 24
Marie405
Level 10
Taguig, Philippines

Hi @Olive7, I've been hosting for a while now and have been fortunate to have good guests.  Since my target market are businessmen and international families I wouldn't expect them to snitch anything and thankfully never happened.

Some stuff however do get broken unintentionally - like a drinking glass but the guest replaced it with a whole set of 4.  And last month's guest broke my kettle (she said they overused it due to constant tea-making and sterilizing baby's bottle) but they bought me a new one.  I never had to find out after their stay, they inform me before checking out. 

For your peace of mind you can set a Security Deposit to cover any possible damage to your property.

Good luck to your plan of hosting. It's fun!

Sylvanne0
Level 1
Quezon City, Philippines

Hi Marie im just starting my airbnb journey. If you have any tips on safety, security and pricing it will be much very appriciated. Because ill be listing my spare rooms inside my own house here in QC near SM north edsa. Im afraid that a crimininal might rent my place then rob or worst hostage us. Thanks