Hotel Taxes - Occupancy taxes

Hotel Taxes - Occupancy taxes

I normally pay my own hotel occupancy taxes in San Diego where I rent.

I am new to AirBnB, and not sure if they are paying them for San Diego.  The info page, seems as if they are, but I am unsure.

Can anyone let me know in the area, what they do?

Thanks

Cyndi

37 Replies 37

Collecting and paying the appropriate state, county and city lodgings taxes for your ABB income is an obligation for all hosts.  After much research and angst of "how are they going to collect and pay appropriately for me???", I decided that their legal team must surely know what they are doing.  95% of my rental income is from VRBO, and I've always paid the taxes on a monthly basis.  If you're in an area that doesn't collect, then you need to be doing it yourself - it's the law!  You could indeed face a stiff penalty for not doing so.

Hi Clare, I'm new at this tax thing. I have a business license but don't know where to charge my guests for the taxes or how to pay them to my county when I do get them from the quests, can you help?

Sheri

@Sheri13  Ah, Occupancy Taxes... the bane of many Airbnb hosts!  I take it from your question that Airbnb is not collecting TOT for you, correct?

If that is the case, you have two awful options: 

1. Collect it directly in cash from the guest when they arrive.  If you do this, it must be clearly and prominently disclosed in your listing so it doesn't come as a surprise to the guest. 

2. Simply incorporate it into your nightly rate and not bother the guest about it.  The downside is that you wind up paying Airbnb 3% on money you wind up paying in taxes.  I prefer that option since I calculate that for me it amounts to about $36 a year which I would gladly forego to avoid the cash thing and customer confusion. 

The only good news is that TOT is tax deductible so be sure you keep track of how much you pay.