House Swaps

Bernard23
Level 2
Castlebar, Ireland

House Swaps

Hi All

I am fairly new to Airbnb, and I was just wondering if the idea of "Swapping" homes with other hosts in different countries ever popped up ?. I think it would be a wonderfully affordable way to holiday around the world ! Any thoughts ??? 

Regards Bernard

10 Replies 10
Amaris0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

It woud not be possible on Airbnb, for one how will you pay Airbnb and secondly, its would require a whole new set of terms and conditions,measures and who will manage those...

Great idea though independent fo Airbnd.

Ama

@Bernard23

If you swap your rental place, you loose rental income during that period.  It would only be economical if the country you visit is more expensive than your home country or the country from where you rent.  

There are quite a few home exchange sites/organisations like HomeLink, Intervac, Homeexchange.

Thanks for the info - can you explain the different levels to me please - I see some people are level 9, others are level 10 ?

Kind Regards Bernard

@Bernard23

The levels refer to how active you are on the forum.

Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

There are other sites that offer home exchanges - different market to AirBnB and pretty much sewn up by those operators at the moment.

Milou0
Level 1
Curaçao

Hi Bernard, I have the same idea. Why not, while my house is open to airbnb guests, I need someone to stay in my house while I am gone, to introduce the guests etc. etc. and I need a place in Amsterdam for a few months and can be a host there! So, I am a searching host! I am from Holland, so my english is not that accurate..but yeah, that is my wish...

Greetz, Milou

Ed-and-Hugh0
Level 10
Miami, FL

@Bernard23 This really isn't a good fit for Airbnb. You'd have to find a host with availability on the exact dates you want, and who also wants to travel to your area on the exact same dates. There are going to be very few matches.

Denise66