How do I pay an overdue payment??

Richard82
Level 1
Calgary, Canada

How do I pay an overdue payment??

This is my first time using airbnb, and it's been incredibly frustrating. The host is fine, though communication is difficult because we don't speak the same language.

The problem is, one of us got sick and we wanted to extend our stay an extra night. No problem with the host. We SHOULD have just given the host cash. Instead, we logged into airbnb and added a night. This cannot be done on the mobile app, but we figured it out online. Then, for some reason our host didn't get the message, so we had to text him to login and accept the alteration.

So, now our 'receipt' reflects the extra charge, but as an "overdue payment". There is no indication of how this payment is to be made. Will it be charged to our linked credit card automatically? Do I have to add money like i would to pay for damages? 

Is there anyone at airbnb that will help us figure this out?

I think our first airbnb experience may be our last....

12 Replies 12
Richard82
Level 1
Calgary, Canada

Update:

It took a couple of hours, but the payment was processed automatically.

Airbnb, you need to put this information somewhere, maybe on the receipt!

AH! Thank you for this post! Have just spent upwards of 15 minutes googling and searching all over the AirBnb site to determine how on earth I pay for the overdue amount!

Good to hear it'll just happen- thank you again!

Hi there!

I'm facing the same problem! I've tried calling their call centre too, but there's no response. What did you mean by 'it'll just happen'? Will I be required to enter my credit card details again?

Kindly help

I had the same problem. I spoke to Airbnb and they told me that the issue is because no Payment Method is set. I assumed that I will receive a payment link for overdue payment and I was wrong. It is Payment Method update that has to be set.

Here are the steps:

1. Go to Accounts Settings under your profile name