How low should you GO!!! -- New Host, Multiple Guest Request Lower Price Is this a new trend?

Tee213
Level 2
Tallahassee, FL

How low should you GO!!! -- New Host, Multiple Guest Request Lower Price Is this a new trend?

Hi Airbnb Community! I recently listed my town home and I definitely under estimated the time it takes to prepare a home for high end hosting. I feel strongly that I have set the listing up for round one success, but please browse my listing and offer sound advice. 

I did and continue to do my weekly research on trends and standards and feel I set my price correctly; slightly below similar established listing in my area. After being concerned with low bookings, I've lowered it even more. With all the consideration to price and being a newbie I still get  inquires requesting lower nightly rates and lower or no cleaning fee. After hosting my first guest I have full respect for the cleaning fee, the laundry alone was laborious. 

I did lower my price by $11 for one guest and he ended up being difficult to host. My initial reaction to the "lower price" requests are, ummm no, but I would like insight on when lowering the price is appropriate. 

Thank you in advance!

9 Replies 9
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Tee213  Personally, I don't think lowering your price is ever appropriate. You sound like someone who isn't going into this blind- you've done your research and know what similar places are charging. You'll likely put your price up during holidays and events and lower it during slow times, but that's your decision, based on what the market will bear, not for a guest to dictate.