How to Leave an Honest Review Without the Guest Leaving a Bad Review Out of Spite

Casey75
Level 3
Newnan, GA

How to Leave an Honest Review Without the Guest Leaving a Bad Review Out of Spite

Hello Hosting Family!

I am new to Hosting and have been spoiled by my first few guests. They have been polite, clean and most have even left gifts for me. However, my last guest, (who I let do a same-day booking even though I usually do not), was not my usual 5-star guest. This was her first time renting an AirBnB rental so I am trying to cut her some slack.

Here's my issue: she sent me quite a few messages during her stay, some even after midnight, which woke me up. Tried calling me several times after midnight when she showed up to the wrong address even though I provided detailed directions, (and my house is not hard to find at all). After she checked out I found marijuana stems and beer caps in the kitchen, cigarette butts in my flower pot on my back patio, and several cigarettes in the grass. My property is listed as non-smoking. I personally don't mind the fact that her and her two guests smoked during their stay (I believe it was all done outdoors), but I don't like seeing the cigarette butts and marijuana stems all over.

How can I leave an honest review (probably 4-star) and still expect a 5-star review in return? I went way out of my way to get the property ready for the guests in time, as well answered her many questions and calls regardless of the late hour in which she sent them. I worry that if I leave a 4-star review, and state the reason why, that the guest would give me a negative review out of spite, which may affect the amount of future bookings I recieve.

How do you leave an honest review and not worry about the reprecussions?

27 Replies 27
Gillian19
Level 10
St Leonards, Australia