How to add fees to reservation request after guest agrees to them in messaging?

Matthew147
Level 3
Chicago, IL

How to add fees to reservation request after guest agrees to them in messaging?

Hello all - 

Quick question as this always makes me feel a little uncomfortable with "declining" a reservation.  Bullet points for my engineering brain.

1. Guest requests a reservation - all is good, dates available etc.
  2. Guest has cats - we have a no pet policy
  3. She assures me they're declawed, fixed, etc. etc. etc.
  4. I tell her I'll book her stay but add on an additional cleaning fee of $100
  5. She says that's great.
  6. Cool <happy dance>

Now what?  I go through to decline the offer and there's nothing there for this type of situation?  I just want to make sure I do it right and don't look like a total noob.

PS - wanted to add that I know how to make a "special offer" which is what I want to do, but figure I have to decline the current reservation request first?  Just clarifying!

Thanks!

8 Replies 8
Dave-and-Deb0
Level 10
Edmonton, Canada

Hi @Matthew147,

You are completely correct.  On a reservation request, you need to decline and then you are given the option to send a special offer.  You could also accept the reservation and then send a request for additional money for the pet fee.  I actually like doing it this way as then both the host and guest would not be charged a service fee on the $100 as you and the guest will be when you add it into the special offer.

David

Superhost Ambassador ~ Host Club Community Leader ~ Community Expert ~ Experienced Co-Host

Lizzie
Former Community Manager
Former Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Hello @Matthew147,

Great to see you post here in the Community Center.

I just wanted to check you have seen @Dave-and-Deb0's reply here? 

Do you have any suggestions on how you would like this to work instead?

Lizzie

(Thanks @Dave-and-Deb0)

--------------------